Time

This seems to be a precious thing and sometimes there doesn’t seem to be enough of it. When I was younger I felt that time stood still and that I would never get older, so that I could enjoy doing things that adults do, but now that I am there I wish that I could slow down time a bit and not have everyday fly by in a wink.

I always laughed when my mom said “When you get older time just flies by.” I thought this must be a joke and she just wants me to stop saying that I am bored or when will dinner be served, etc. You all know what I mean; how time stood still back then.

Now-a-days everyone seems to be running here and there trying to get everything done and meet their friend and do this and do that besides hold down a job. I ask myself sometimes and maybe you do too: I wish the day had more hours in it? And if it did would it make life easier? This is a question that I cannot answer. But maybe you can????

We have many new devices and appliances in our lives that are supposed to make life easier, and I can honestly say that not all these things make my life easier, nor do they save time either. Instead they seem to slow things down or not function the way it should. And the cell phones or PDA’s that we all have, that everyone is clinging to as if it is a life boat going to save us from the unknown. We load these devices with dates, telephone numbers, photos and whatever else so as too not miss anything and supposedly saves time. Look at the time I waste monkeying around with these things and if I lose it hopefully, I have noted the telephone numbers and dates someplace else. Otherwise, I am sunk!
Then I really need time to find all those numbers, dates, etc.

But that’s not really the point here. Last year just flew by and now it’s the middle of February. I think what did I do the whole time?
Weekends seem to go by in a flash and always I have to worry about time. Be on time for an appointment, on time for work, etc. The list is endless.

I need a vacation but then that flies by too giving me the feeling that it was only a dream and all I have left to show is some pictures that I will show everyone that I took on my handheld device and that was it. Over and done with!

Remember when people did have time and you had come back from vacation having taken pictures (the old-fashioned way – not digital) and then you made slides out of them and after they were developed you invited friends over and took the time and had a little party and slide show, showing off your great vacation pictures and everyone was having a great time because they had time to enjoy themselves. Where are those days? If am lucky I can get a group of friends together every 2 months, because like always no one has time in their busy schedule.

I think we need to slow down a bit and look at things; whether it is work or in your private life. Maybe by taking a bit of time to look at problems more closely things could get solved instead of making a lighting flash decision and in the end everything goes wrong. Or as I read recently most couples only communicate with each other for about 5 minutes a day. (Why are they even together; I ask myself?) Why don’t they take the time to talk to each to each other? Time to communicate is important in life otherwise everyone goes their own way and no one knows what the other is up too.
Again the good ‘ol -> time

Make time and enjoy a bit of life otherwise it will fly by and you will ask yourself “Where has the time gone?”
Make time and enjoy life!

Leave a Reply

