Cold weather coats and people

Winter seems to be a time for cold weather and all sorts of odd-looking outfits. I personally like to dress warmly and have some sort of fashionable look about me, even though it may not be the same fashion tastes as others and all I can say is I am happy with the way I look. But if one of my friends say to me “Don’t you think you look a bit strange or fat in what you have on”; I take this in stride because maybe there’s some truth in it and I should change my outfit or coat. We seem to find ourselves searching for what we consider warm and at the same time making a statement saying here I am look at me.

I must say I look at other people to see what their wearing and I am sure many of you look at what other people are wearing too when it’s cold outside. Even though if someone confronted you and asked “Were you looking at me?” Most of us would automatically deny it- I mean really do you actually want to say “Hey, I was staring at what you have on and I think it looks really bad on you.” Can you image the response you would get from that person? I don’t even what to think about it, let alone the thought that you may get a black eye at the same time too for saying something like that. Too dangerous for me; I’m going to steer clear of saying anything.

Though I will admit that I have often thought about what the other person is wearing and think it looks like s#@t on them or I think “did you get dressed in the dark?” or to side track a bit: you are on the bus or subway and the heat is on full power, and there is someone there who hasn’t had a shower for weeks and the body odor is penetrating everywhere and the person who – to put it nicely stinks and seems to be oblivious to everything.
When there is someone around like that I always wish that I had a gas mask with me, so I won’t suffocate. Haven’t these people ever heard of soap and water and the washing machine where you can put your clothes (and maybe they should dive into it too) into this machine add some soap and turn it on and after about an hour – bingo-your clothes are clean!
The miracle of modern appliances.

Sorry got a bit side tracked from the fashion points of cold weather but it was something which I found important to mention.
Now-a-days you can buy all sorts of winter coats that are affordable for everyone. There are some people who prefer expensive coats sporting a label so that everyone can see that they may have spent a lot of money on their coat. Whether the coats warm that’s not the question; main thing is it was expensive and I can brag to all my friends that I spent a fortune – I am someone now-. Then there’s the person who wears a coat that wouldn’t keep you warm in the middle of summer. It’s made of some flimsy material but they feel they look cool in it and probably feeling coooool too. Or I love the coats that look like an old blanket; you know the fake fur sort- looks good new, but once you’ve washed it once in the washing machine that’s the end of it and it looks like an old blanket. Though hopefully warm?

I mean the choice is endless when it comes to the sort of materials that winter coats are made of and here are some examples: wool, polyester, down, cotton, etc and same holds true for colors, though this seems to be limited. Most popular colors seem to be black, brown, or blue though sometimes you may get lucky and see someone wearing a coat or jacket of a brighter color and then they stand-out like a sore thumb.

Remember years ago when almost all winter apparel was brightly colored and everyone could see you coming a mile away. Too bad those days are over. But I can say I saw someone with one of those older model winter coats on. It was a yellow-orange color with shoulder pads that made the women look like a weight lifter – maybe she was who knows?
Those coats back then never did a thing for your figure and if you are short you looked like a stuffed duck with shoulders on you that made you look like you could lift weights weighing a ton without a problem.

So much for winter fashion. Stay warm and enjoy winter!

One thought on “Cold weather coats and people

Leave a Reply

