Weight

Weight is something we all think about and mind you if someone says to you ” I never worry about my weight” , that is the biggest lie of the century!

I have tried many a diet without much success, though the pounds stay off for a while but sooner or later they seem to creep back into my body and place themselves around the hip area – sneaky little devils those calories!

It is said with a balanced diet plenty of exercise (how much is plenty I ask myself?)You will achieve your ideal figure. All I can say here is that’s a load of rubbish!

I have tried endless diet plans, spent a fortune on books or diet supplements and at the end of the day my figure really hasn’t made any remarkable changes. My jeans, skirts, dress etc are still tight and I still have to squeeze myself into an item of clothing even after dieting.
– A losing battle-

Additionally, there are other ways to lose weight and these seem to take on a dimension that could set you back financially. You know what I am talking about?

Taking yourself to the garage for a little maintenance or tuning.
There you will find trained mechanics who can work on your figure honing away at it trying to suck out all those fatty cells with their industrial strength vacuum cleaner or chisel away at some other part of your body leaving you in the end with a whole new look. Also they can replace the parts which have lost their warranty and seem to be wearing out with age.
The wonders of science!

Though I have read that you have to go back regularly for inspection jobs, otherwise you won’t be able to keep your slim figure and your parts may lose their guarantee, so you can’t forget the 50 thousand mile inspection or else you are bound for a breakdown somewhere out there. And that would mean trouble!

I can only speak for myself and say I stay away from those sorts of garages, because I feel I was made the way I am and I accept the fact that gravity and calories take their toll over time. But don’t misunderstand me here; I by no means want to put people down who choose the garage route.

Though once I feel I have lost enough weight it makes me want to go out and buy a new dress and show off my new figure (hopefully ????).

So off to the stores it is looking for that new outfit (everyone has experienced this I am sure). You have found an item maybe a dress and think “ok, let me try this on. It may look good on me?”

So off to the fitting room I go accompanied by a sales assistant who has a figure like a model in one of those fashion magazines. Before I have even tried the dress on I feel a bit over weight after looking at the sales assistant.
But, I don’t let that de-motivate me(I want that dress!) So, I try it on and notice – wow I have to really suck in my stomach to make me look good in it.( How long can I walk around like this; maybe 2 minutes at the most?) But before I have a chance to ask for a larger size (help!!!);the sales assistant says to me: ” That fits you perfect and really shows off your figure”. I think to myself- “Is she nuts? And I don’t want to show the world all my bulges and wobbly bits”.

I say, “sorry but I see this a tad differently than you do. And then I say- Can I try this same dress on in a larger size?” This thought brings tears to my eyes!

The smug little sales assistant trots off with a snickering grin on her face as if saying ” You look like a blimp in that dress, but hey I want the commission, so I’ll say anything to get her to buy it”.

Back she is in a flash with a larger size and it’s too big now. What’s my problem here? I ask myself – it’s either too tight or too large. Now the trusty sales assistant says to me: “This dress defiantly fits you better than the other one”.
I think: „is she blind?” I mean really you could fit two of me in the dress now! I am desperate attempting to think to myself- forget it you don’t need the dress and put my own clothes back on and say „Thank you but I have decided against both dresses.” Then as you all know the sales assistant gives you a look that could kill because she hasn’t made a sale on you. Bad luck honey!

So I make a bee line to another store with no sales assistance. Maybe my luck will be better here? I find that perfect dress and this time I take 3 different sizes into the changing room with me because I don’t want to have to go and find another size after. I try one of them on and think to myself “ you don’t look too bad“, so I step-out of the cabin to inspect myself in front of the large mirror and at the same time there’s another women there my age who says to me “ Don’t you think you’re a bit old for that dress?” I could wring her neck, after months of dieting and feeling great about myself and actually finding a dress that fits I hear that. I think to myself “you don’t look too hot either in what you are trying on”.
I bet many of you know exactly what I mean here. Isn’t it sad how there is always someone out there who manages to break your bubble of happiness.

Enjoy dieting and remember don’t let others break your bubble of happiness!

P.S. I bought the dress and have gotten lots of complements too. So remember don’t always believe what others say when it comes to what you are wearing after you have lost some weight.

One thought on “Weight

  1. Clothing sizes are bizarre anyway. They vary by manufacturer, so one company’s dress size may be different from another’s, even though they are both assigned the same size. Personally, I think the best clothes are about making you feel both comfortable and confident that you look your best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

