Time and memories – 1

Remember the times when life seemed so simple and we actually enjoyed things and took the time to admire them too. Things weren’t so disposable and they were built to last not like today – it breaks down, so throw it out and buy a new one.

I remember as a kid that when something of major proportion was bought it was an event! I can say at least in our household it was and I am sure in many others too.

My dad bought my mom a new washing machine and dryer (naturally matching colors)for a present. My mom was enthralled by the thought of this and since we had a huge kitchen; designated a small section for these wonderful appliances that would save her time.
I personally couldn’t get as excited as my mom did, but I was happy for her, and hoped that she would enjoy them.

The big day came and they were delivered and hooked-up; you would have thought royalty were coming to our house with the whirl wind of excitement that was going on.
After the delivery men left my mom stood in front of both appliances and was proud as pie and grinning from ear to ear! She loved those two appliances because I could see it on her face. Maybe some of you can remember those times?

Naturally, after about an hour she was on the phone to all her friends telling them about the wonders of washing and drying.
I must say I was baffled by the whole situation, so I asked my mom ” Why are you making such a fuss about the washing machine and dryer? She answered me with a smile saying:” Dear, you will understand this when you are older.” That was definitely not the answer I had hoped for, but it got me thinking about being an adult and the joys of washing even though I wasn’t too sure that it was a joyous event.

Anyways, a couple of days past and my mom – still bursting with pride about her appliances informed me that all her friends would be coming by tomorrow afternoon for coffee and to have a look at the two new members of our household. To be honest I was a bit jealous because those two appliances seemed to be getting more attention then I did.

The washing machine was huge! The tub in the washing machine was so large that you could take a bath in it and be softened with fabric softener and in the end after that you could hop into the dryer for a spin and come out all dry and shiny. ( Note: I never did this and nor should you because it can do bodily harm.)

The excitement was mounting and my mom cleaned the house and got everything ready for “the day” and then it was there all her friends were gathered in the kitchen admiring those two appliances as if they were new born babies.
My mom showed how each program worked and so forth as if conducting a professional seminar for washing machines, and all the while her friends looked truly amazed at the wonders of washing and wishing they had a machine like my mom’s.

Those gals took time to enjoy the happiness of the other person instead of being jealous because they didn’t have such an appliance.

Though to this day I must admit that now I can understand her answer but still part of me still asks ” What is the joy in the whole process ?”
Can anyone answer this question for me?

So, remember enjoy your new washing machine no matter what and have a party around it because hey
It’s a good excuse to take time for your friends!

Leave a Reply

