The housewife dilemma

Many women out there may understand this situation each week the same old thing; work, cleaning and shopping. Why haven’t they invented some way to simplify these things?
I know there are appliances that help me but I still have to invest some time to use these things and how much time do I really save that is a matter of how you view things.

Sometimes my husband comes home and asks me:” What’s for dinner this evening?” and I have only been home maybe 10 minutes. I had a long stressful day at work then I had to rush to the grocery store to buy something for dinner and fight the traffic to get back home and then I should have dinner ready and waiting on the table as if I had nothing better to do with my time. You gals know exactly what I mean here.

My husband asked me the other evening while I was preparing dinner: “What do you do with yourself all day?” I could have wacked him with the frying pan that I was holding in my hand, but I thought the better of it and gave him a smug answer. “All I do is sit at my desk all day and gossip with my colleagues and we drink coffee all day.” He said: No kidding, I wish I could do that and starts to tell me how his day was. I thought to myself were you even listening to what I just said? Sometimes I think we live in two different worlds.

Also, recently my husband was with some of his male friends in the living room exchanging intellectual information as he puts it. I call it gossiping, but I bet you didn’t know that men don’t gossip only women do. This is an unbelievable fact which should be studied by some university.
Why don’t men admit that they gossip about things instead of trying to hide it with some other formulation that makes it sound more intellectual? A question beyond answering and not worth having an argument about with him.

Women also have intellectual conversation about things. I always talk(not really) to all my girl friends about how I changed the spark plugs on my car or that I just re-tiled the bathroom because so and so wasn’t able to manage the job, and they say that they too have just recently overhauled the engine on their lawnmower or repaired the washing machine without the help of …… All the while mentioning names of other people. So who is gossiping here? Not me

That’s beside the point and either way at the end of the day it’s all the same we are having an intellectual conversation and you are too.

But onto the cleaning and this is a job which is so moving that I just don’t know how to describe it. I am sure you all know what I mean???
My managing of the operational tasks and task force which are assigned various household duties around the house and with a bit of luck they may get it done without my interference. Please, keep your finger crossed!!!
I have spent many an hour trying to encourage my co inhabitants to do something and at the end of the day I seem to be the one who does everything around the house as if I have nothing better to do with my time.

I have employed a cleaning lady only to be disappointed with the results and to find out when I wasn’t there that she was enjoying herself by making herself comfortable in front of the television set, so I was forced to release her of her duties. Though I might add she was a bit upset about this because she thought that I was over doing it a bit and she didn’t want to miss her afternoon soap that was on. Poor thing and I was in the office with my feet up on my desk dreaming of a warm summer day (BS I say)

Though if I am lucky normally once a year comes the day where you are supposed to be appreciated by someone and they may make me breakfast and then after that I can load up the dishwasher because the others worked sooooo hard preparing breakfast. But I’m never tired! You know the feeling?

Then there’s the grocery shopping oh how I love to do that. Just to roam the aisle alone and ponder about life and take peek at what’s in the other shopping trolleys. But have you ever thought about how much time you invest in grocery shopping? Well I have.

Saving money when shopping is a major task that takes up a lot of time because, if you collect coupons and cut them out & sort them out and so forth.
If I was only paid for clipping out the coupons for grocery shopping I probably would have saved a couple of thousand by now through the years, but unfortunately that’s not the case at our house.

Just image you collect all the flyers with coupons then go through all the flyers say at $5.00 /€5,00 an hour plus the clipping out the coupon time then going to the grocery store and trying to find all the items that you have a coupon for; my guess is my pay would be somewhere around $75.00 /€75.00 a week- not bad and I do this only once at week. But that’s $/€ 300.00 a month or 3600.00 a year; not bad I say; though gratuities would be nice and greatly accepted.(Hopeful wishing on my part)

I know there are people out there that invest more time then I do, so naturally you would earn more.

But shopping in the grocery store itself is somewhat of a demanding process which requires focused thinking and not getting sidetracked by the Specials or other things that you don’t need.

There seems to be something on almost every other shelf; something that we don’t need but it somehow seems to attract our attention and land in my shopping cart. These items seem to have legs and they can jump into the cart when you aren’t looking. You know what I mean. I really dislike these items because most of them are items that are calorie related and as the old saying goes: “over the lips and on the hips” and there goes my weight ….Help me!!!!!

These calorie items are strategically located on the shelves and have arms on them grabbing at you or your shopping cart and sticking to it like it was glued onto it. I find myself having to fight my way past these items and this I do by going down these aisles as fast as I can and protecting my shopping cart from the items jumping into it by sticking exactly to my list. Though it is a tough battle.

Though grocery shopping can be an experience in itself. When you look around at the other shoppers. Some just wander the aisles others run from aisle to aisle as if in a race and then there’s the person who reads every label to see what’s in the product and where it was produced. Plus the fashion show that you get too while shopping can be great because in the grocery store no one really cares about how they look and believe me you can see some eye opening fashions!

Need a good break from household chores then go grocery shopping and when you get back home you are ready for the next adventure that is awaiting you.

Leave a Reply

