Help I need a facial cream

We all know this problem that you need to keep your skin moist and soft( so they say) and so with the signs of aging – I hate this sentence, because it makes me feel like I am an aging sponge shriveling up and drying out over time!

But that is the message behind those ads for facial creams to make us unsure so that we will buy their product. Sorry boys not with me. Though I will admit I got caught up in this whole mess once.

Anyways, it was like this; I adventurously entered a store full of facial creams that promise me the world and I feel better already except then I am approached by a sale women who must have visited a garage and she said to me: “They definitely have a cream here for my problem skin.” I never knew that my skin had a problem before, because I never asked it.

But this women knows !!

She suggests we do an analysis of my facial skin so then I know exactly what cream is best for my skin. I think to myself “ How has my skin survived all these years not knowing this information?” I find this whole thing a bit unsettling but I say “OK” anyways.

She does this and that and then she informs me that I will need a couple of creams because my skin isn’t the same all over my face. Though I think my skin looks ok to me and is the same color but not according to her.
And the thought that people could point to me and think “We know your facial skin isn’t the same.” This is horrifying. But imagine walking down the street and people saying to you when they walk by “ I know the left side of your face is dry and the other side is oily.” This makes me cringe!!

So, I ask the sales women what she would suggest. A wrong question indeed.

Well, she says to me considering the condition of your skin and your age( I never told her how old I was)I would recommend that you use a different cream for each problem zone, and this here is exactly what you need.

I have mentally noted that she is well versed in skin problems and maybe even an expert, but I doubt that very much she is just well trained by the company.

Now the sales women stands before me with all these promising creams that will make me look younger. I need this!!! I want to be younger looking and now she shows me a couple of more promising products that just seem to be exactly what I need (according to the sales women).

All the time she has been telling me the wonders of these products and that I must use them twice a day otherwise my skin will look like an old sponge (I feel really ugly now that she has said that). But she did let me in on a secret, and that was that she went to the garage for an overhaul and if she didn’t she would look worse than I do. After hearing that, I was relieved to think that I don’t look too bad then (Thank-you).

So the moment came when I had to decide which cream to buy and I knew there and then it could be pricey!!!! I chose the one that promised soft and younger looking skin in 3 weeks. I hope my partner will still recognize me then. Not that he thinks there’s some strange chick trying to pick him up (I’d better be careful).

The sales women said I made an excellent choice and suggested some cosmetics too. I politely said “No thank-you, the cream is enough.” She looked at me as if to say: If you don’t buy a foundation, mascara and all the other stuff you will be beyond help. I will take the chance because I like to live risky!!

Then I asked the “question”: How much? She answered me by saying “ Only $50.00 plus tax.” I almost fell over, but thought hey I’m worth it. What’s fifty bucks when I’ll look younger? So I paid and got another free sample of something for aging skin. I hate this word” aging” it’s like a plague everywhere you turn you hear it.

I invested many hours in my new beauty regime with my new cream but no one seemed to notice that I looked younger. I could clearly see in the mirror day by day that the effects of aging were disappearing by using this cream, but why hadn’t anyone else noticed it?

I felt heartbroken (and maybe you have too) and have gone back to using my old faithful product that I have been using for years and everyone now says:”your skin looks good.” What’s with everyone?

Always take care of your skin and it will always take care of you protecting you from the elements whatever they may be.

Leave a Reply

