The passing away of my cell phone

My trusty cell phone (without apps) after many years of faithful service decided to say good bye to me and make its way to cell phone heaven. This was a very sad day for me and I am sure many of you have experienced this too. It’s like losing a good friend and if my phone could speak it could have told you many a tale.

After mourning for a few days I finally pulled myself together and visited the store of my provider and I knew once when I passed through those doors I would have to dig deep into my pocket for a new trusty cell phone. You have no idea how heartbroken I was, too slowly see and experience that my trusty phone was no longer able to perform its normal functions and that it was beyond repair. -> I cried

Now inside the store I never realized before what a vast selection there is of cell phones and they come in every shape size and color and with so many devices to choose from I am flabbergasted. Plus with all the things these phones can do I’m pretty sure they can cook-up a good dinner too if you push the right button or app. That’s modern technology at its finest!

Then all of a sudden a sale woman about my age approaches me with a blouse on that’s soooooo tight the buttons are about to pop off and her chest would put a Holstein cow to shame (garage job). If you know what I mean? I thought this chick is here for the guy customers to distract them so that they will spend more money than they actually intended to spend.

A word of advice gals -> hold onto your guy when you go into this store!!!!

Anyways, she asks me: Can I help you and your husband? I thought to myself she’s not speaking to me hopefully because you can clearly see that I am alone.
The she looked right at me and repeated the same question. I looked at her and said: “Yes, you can help me.” And she said “What about your husband?” I thought are you nuts – there’s isn’t one man in the whole store and what’s my husband got to do with this here?

I said “ I can manage to choose my new cell phone alone.” Boy did that take the wind out of her sails fast and I got a real dirty look to boot. Now she was confronted with me and that meant she may have to work because I wasn’t so impressed with her big t..ts.
I knew right from the start that she didn’t know a thing about cell phones because when I asked her about a certain model she wasn’t even sure if they even sold that brand. I thought great!! But then again I thought this could be fun and so asked her if they had a cell phone that was made in C…a ?
And she so expertly answered me by saying that she has no idea where cell phones are manufactured – so I knew now that I was in good hands here with a real professional sales woman.

Well, we discussed the tariffs and other such options that the company offers and we came to an agreement and I signed all the papers.
But before I left the shop I experienced another heartbreaking blow.

The sale woman said to me that I could dispose of my old phone by putting it in the recycling bag next time I come by. I told the woman how she can be so insensitive and talk that way about my beloved phone that had just passed away. And then she said to me with tears in her eyes “ I understand exactly what you are going through because my phone passed away last month and I had my phone longer then I was married and I loved my phone dearly maybe even more then my husband. I said: “Oh, that’s interesting to hear.”

So you see we all love our cell phones whether we like to admit it or not. Cherish yours and when it comes time gently set it to rest in cell phone heaven.

3 thoughts on “The passing away of my cell phone

  1. I feel you.. my el cheapo, flip, no camera phone died last year (it was my first one mind you) and i gave it a right proper burial (ye olde hammer b/c how dare it up & die on me)..LOL
    great post!!!!

Leave a Reply

