Books & Language

Because I love to read (my App friends will hate me for this) I stumbled across a book about everyday America and its words and idiomatic phrases and because the book is in two languages it makes it more interesting.

But as I am sure many of you may not understand its contents, so I thought I would help you along here by listing these wonderful words and there meanings. Please note this is not a direct translation always and I do not use one of those internet translators either. Though I must admit they are good for a laugh because they never get the wording right.

Instructions for reading: American word first and the translation follows and if you have any questions do not ask because we do not have the answer either.

Apple polisher -> brown noser

Behind the times -> Toooo old and you better catch up on how things are today.

Billion -> Spending way too much money that you don’t have

Call it a day -> I have had enough of work and my colleagues for today and now what to go home and see what I can stir-up there.

A Diamond is forever -> Honey start saving your money if you want to marry me!

Facts of life -> I have no idea and probably never will. Ask someone else if you want the answer.

Girl Friday -> The chick the boss is having an affair with.

Holidays -> Something I have never heard of.

Jaywalk -> How to get hit by a car.

Keep your shirt on -> By all means if the guys good-looking he can take it off.

Lost generation -> Someone trying to find themselves.

No-Kidding -> You have nothing better to say.

Phoney -> There’s a lot of that around today.

Scoop -> Good gossip amongst the girls.

Think tank -> Over paid people trying to bid for more time.

Walk out -> Leave your partner for a newer model.

Women’s lib -> Does this exist and what is it?

Zero in on something -> It may take a while until I understood what you were saying.

So now after reading this you are an expert at American English and you do not need to use a dictionary – oh, sorry I mean an App to understand someone.

Leave a Reply

