The Death of the Encyclopedia

A sad day has now come to our lives as I read yesterday. A company in England that has been printing encyclopedias for hundreds of years will stop printing them. Those wonderful works of art; that we will no longer be able to hold in our hands and enjoy its trove of information is coming to an end. This is heart breaking news and if I had enough money I would buy the company and keep printing those wonderful books.

I remember those wonderful books from my childhood. They supplied me with all the answers to my questions and filled my brain with ideas and the longing to learn more. My parents even up-dated our encyclopedias yearly, so that we had the most up-to-date information. And by doing that we weren’t be behind the times.

Those books helped me with many an essay for high school or my science project and accompanied me through college giving me the wisdom so I could graduate. I remember holding those treasured books in my hand with their leather-bound covers that smelt so nice and the richly illustrated pages explaining to me everything that I wanted to know and more.

Those lovely books stood proudly in the bookshelf at our house there on display in alphabetical order so whoever came by could see that we were readers and had an interest in things. And if I asked my parents a question they couldn’t answer they always said “Look in the encyclopedia and there you will find the answer.” And I did that and was always satisfied with what I found. Plus sometimes I found out even more and this quest for knowledge could be satisfied with those great books.

Now-a-days I only have abridged editions but I own them and I have a couple of others in other languages too, because you don’t find that sort of information anymore.

Things are getting lost in the era of the internet and if you aren’t connected to the internet you seem to be left behind. I ask myself “If you don’t have internet access; how do you get information about certain things?” If there are no encyclopedias anymore in the book form then what do you do? Or is society becoming a mass of people with stagnating brains who have no quest for knowledge?

Hold on to your beloved encyclopedias with it treasure trove of information and you may still even be able to use them to answer your question about something and it still looks good on the book shelf too!

4 thoughts on “The Death of the Encyclopedia

  1. This makes me sad…I recall the day my Dad bought home a big box full of the Britannica encyclopedias.. I read and read those books..
    Our world is moving so fast that the little things are getting left behind..

Leave a Reply

