Childhood memories

Now that spring is here and the sun is shining I got to thinking about those wonderful spring days of my childhood. We spent hours outside and our parents never worried about us and we were free to do whatever we wanted to do. Those were the days!!

Every spring myself and 4 other kids would meet-up to walk to the pond to catch pollywogs ( I hope that I spelt the word correctly.?) in our pails. I was the supplier of the pails because somehow my dad always seemed to have an endless supply of ½ gallon pails for us and we were always grateful for that. We would walk about a mile and ½ to the pond and take our socks & shoes off and wade into the ice cold water and at the same time our feet would turn blue from the cold. But we never got sick from that cold water; we were tough kids back then immune to everything!

After catching our pollywogs we would then count them to see who had the most. I always had the feeling that I was counting the same ones but I was never really sure. Then we would march back home with our pails to show our parents the wonders of nature in our pails. It was always exciting because you had to maneuver your way through the woods and not drop your pail or else that was the end of your pollywogs and they then went to pollywog heaven.

My parents wouldn’t let me keep my pollywogs because my mom thought that was cruel. I never understood her because in the pond there were millions of those things and that’s no joke either! But when my mom said bring your pollywogs back to the pond I normally went over to a friend’s house that had an inflatable swimming pool and we would dump them all in there and feed them daily and watch their progress and see how they grew their legs and turned into frogs.

That was real action not any computer games, TV or such. We learned about nature first hand and spent many wonderful hours outside doing such great things.

Though I do have one memory from my pollywog days that got us in real trouble. We normally took the dog with us that belonged to an elderly lady who live near us. I think the dog was a bit of a handful for her because he was a boxer and loved to run around with us until that afternoon.
Like always we picked Brutus up on our daily hike to the pond to check out what was happening to the pollywogs.

Normally we weren’t afraid of anything except skunks!!!

We were always told to steer clear of them but on that day we were too busy with our pollywogs to watch what Brutus was doing and while we were wading in the water we heard Brutus let out a sort of cry and thought quick we have to see what happened to him and you guessed it right -> the skunk sprayed Brutus and boy did he stink!!!!!!

We thought we could wash him in the pond but that didn’t work and so we went to one of my friend’s house and sprayed Brutus with room air freshener thinking that would do the trick and you know how kids are we somehow forgot about Brutus stinking and brought him back home and said we would visit him tomorrow.

About an hour later my mom got a phone call from Brutus’s owner saying that Brutus stunk like a skunk and did I know anything about it? I couldn’t lie and said yes but pretended that I really wasn’t sure what a skunk was. Bad move on my part because that was the end of my pollywog’s that spring and we all were grounded for a week. But that didn’t stop us from doing the same thing next year -> looking for pollywogs.

We did that for years until somehow we all grew out of that and our interests changed and that was the end of the pollywogs.

Leave a Reply

