On the Bus

I normally travel on public transport because I would like to do my small share for the environment but that is not what I want to write about here.

Have you ever taken a good look around you to see what everyone is up too while they try to pass their time on the bus either traveling to work or just out and about. Everyone seems either engrossed in their mobile devices or some sort of book. I personally find the mobile device users the best group to observe, because they always seem to be in their own world oblivious to what’s going on around them.

When someone is talking on their cell phone (recently a young woman) who was telling her friend how she broke-up with her boyfriend and how she showed him that’s how life is.

The conversation went something like this:
You know … I told Tom in no uncertain terms that if he didn’t take me out on Friday evening that I would leave him and you won’t believe what he said…He said no I am not going to take you out on Friday evening because I want to watch the soccer game on TV with my friends. And I told him that he had to take me out, but he had the nerve to say no to me and that I could go out with you or one of my other friends.

So, as you can image I said- then good! And told him if he doesn’t change his mind within the next 10 minutes I am going to leave him for good.
Then he said: good you can go, but I am watching soccer on TV no matter what!
Well, I flipped out and called him #$& and *%! And that didn’t even phase him. What kind of guy is he? …..a bit of silence …. (Just a note-she was talking so loud that the whole bus could hear her and enjoy the story too.)

Well (she went on) I left him and went to my mom’s place and went out with Mark on Friday evening and we had a great time together and I ended up at his place.
I should have gone out with him ages ago. I am not sure if Tom even misses me? I haven’t seen him but heard that he went out with Kathy after the soccer game on Friday evening. Can you just image that; he doesn’t even miss me. You know I was the best thing he ever had and he doesn’t even realize it.

What’a jerk! I know in the next couple of days he will come crawling on his knees begging me to come back.

Unfortunately, I can’t say how the story ended because she got off the bus. Maybe if I am lucky she will board the bus and continue the moving story of how she left her boyfriend.
Who left who is always the question here because I can only hear one side of the story.

Then there are the social network cell phone users who are hoping that someone has contacted them or they have gained a so called new friend or they have to report to everyone that they are sitting on the bus.

I mean really isn’t that something you have always wanted to know or that they are sending text messages and their phone makes a sound every couple of minutes – they are someone and they are being contacted. What more would you want from life?

I wonder sometimes how I manage to get through my bus trip without receiving 50 text messages or not participating in some social network or telephoning and telling the world about my problems.

Am I the odd one out or has life changed so much that everyone can’t survive with a cellular device? I don’t want to be reachable 24/7. I want a life outside my cell phone even on the bus.

Maybe that’s why I have taken to watching all these people because it’s getting to be just as good as a TV program. I will stay tuned to my next bus adventure and if it’s good I will share it with you.

One thought on “On the Bus

  1. I too have heard some of the funniest conversations from people talking on their cells so loud in public.. I just get tickled!!

Leave a Reply

