The Cent is Dead

Again a very sad day has come about in history. The death of the wonderful Canadian cent that will be put to rest and no longer produced.
This is yet again another painful episode in 2012 were our beloved treasures of yesteryear are fading away.

Every summer as a kid I visited my grandparents who had a house on a lovely lake in Ontario and there I would get from my grandfather a handful of those wonderful coins.
I felt like a millionaire with all those pennies in my hand and thought I could buy the world too!
And with my riches we would visit the “Five and Dime” store where I could buy the world with my handful of Canadian cent pieces.

I bought many a great thing with those coins for example great rings or a fan and many a barrette for my hair but the best was when I saved up all my pennies and had a dollar and then the world was mine to have, and that summer with my riches I bought myself a beloved minnow net and spent many an hour out on the lake with my friends trying to catch minnows in my net, and that all with the help of the lovely Canadian cent.

I ask those folks who produce that lovely coin “How can you do that to me?” My childhood memories are only a couple of cents that I have left that I can hold in my hand.

I am sure there are many of you out there with fond memories of the Canadian cent and could cry just like I do at the thought of loosing such precious memories.

Love and cherish your cents that you have because there will never again be a penny made like that again!

One thought on “The Cent is Dead

Leave a Reply

