The smell of great food

Today brings back memories of my childhood where my mom would always cook-up a real great tasting meal for us and we would devour it in less than 30 minutes.

My mom spent hours in the kitchen preparing the meal. We never ate fish like other folks; we ate roast beef and boy was that good!!

I was always amazed at how my mom always managed to whip-up such a great meal and after slaving in the kitchen for hours still be in a good mood. Though one year her mood turned sour when Cesar our Great Dane dog did something that got him thrown out of the house for a couple of days.

Like always on this day every year my grandparents were there and my mom was busy like always and I had to stay out of the way and keep an eye on Cesar too. I wasn’t too happy about keeping an eye on the dog because I wanted to do other things like play outside. But since I was cleaned up for the day that meant staying inside whiling my time away with the dog.

Cesar and I were having a good time in my bedroom reading books together on my bed. He was a very attentive listener and knew good literature when he heard it, but somehow I must have dosed off reading to him and never noticed that he had slipped off the bed and left my bedroom and snuck downstairs into the kitchen where my mom was basting the roast beef -> bingo!!

My mom had placed the OPEN roasting pan on the oven door and had her back turned to the oven and how Cesar managed was beyond me. But he managed some how to get the roast beef out of the roasting pan without burning himself and came back up stairs into my room with the roast in his mouth.

You can image the scream that came from the kitchen from my mom!!!

And at the same time she screamed I woke up to find Cesar lying at the foot of my bed enjoying a roast. I was still somewhat a sleep but when my mom & dad came into my room I was wide awake and Cesar was pulled off the bed and the roast was taken away from him and I got in big trouble for not keeping an eye on the dog.

Poor Cesar had to stay outside for a couple of days in the cold.

My mom was really upset to say the least and so we were served bread and gravy with vegetables because the roast was already eaten.

I must say when I look back at that day, that it was somehow great fun and the food was good too. There was never a dull day at our house when I was growing up and my mom had nerves of steel to put up with such goings on. But there’s one thing for sure no matter how dire things were she always had a smile on her face and said a kind word about everything.

I wish everyone reading this a Happy Easter and enjoy your time with your family and friends!

3 thoughts on “The smell of great food

  1. We had similar childhoods with all the business and wonderful, cooking Mom’s

    Great post.. and Happy Easter to you as well!!
    Lynne

Leave a Reply

