Can I Drive my Car?

With the price of gas/petrol or whatever you like to call it there seems to be a constant increase in its price. Sooner or later I won’t be able to drive my car anymore because I just plain cannot afford it.

You read daily that prices are increasing and that supplies are dwindling and so forth, but no one has come up with a real alternative that could help us.

I was looking at the cost of gas on the internet in various countries and was somewhat surprised at the prices.(note prices are not today’s and have changed since I wrote this.)

UK: £ 5.00 a gallon / Canada: $ 5.15 a gallon / Germany: € 6.36 a gallon

My gosh, I need to be a millionaire to fill the tank up of my car. I need to ride my bicycle more. This is good for the environment and I get exercise at the same time. And there are more positive things to riding a bike, like it helps you lose weight or you get out of the house and see the world from a different angle, and you can do your shopping too.

My advice: plan ahead with grocery shopping, because you have to carry everything and balance it all too! Or else your eggs could break.

The bicycle is a great thing, though many have just forgotten about it and I think now it will be making its comeback in the times when gas prices are rising.

And my car? Well, I will put it in the garage all nice and shiny and on the wall in front of my car hang a screen and there you go. I have my own drive-in movie theater right at my doorstep.

When I feel like going out to the movies in my car all I have to do is make some popcorn load up the DVD player with the movie I/we want to see and sit in my car and enjoy a full screen movie. You can do this too and if your car is large enough you can invite some friends over for a drive-in movie in your garage.

Though, I would recommend the garage drive-in only in the summer months because you can’t have the cars motor running in the garage. Firstly, because it’s dangerous for your health and secondly it would be bad for the environment and expensive for your wallet.

I am getting a bit reminiscent about gas prices here. When I think back all those years to my very first car that my parents gave me for graduating from high school. Now that was a car!!!

A convertible with a couple of holes in the roof for extra ventilation on rainy days and a bit of Irish lace too; that added a special note to the car. Making it one of a kind and ooh, I forgot to add if it rained and the distributor cap got damp then it wouldn’t start at all and then needed a blow dryer to get the moisture out of the distributor cap. A must for all car drivers today…..

That car was great even when it cause my father many a head ache. It was simply cheap to run. I could fill it up for $1.00 and drive all week. I forgot to mention it was some small European thing whereas all my friends had larger models and couldn’t afford the gas. So when they were strapped for cash everyone wanted to have the luxury of my car. Even back then a small car paid off, but you won’t find gas that cheap anymore.

I rode my bicycle everywhere too back then because it was somehow more fun than always riding around in my car.

Try riding your bicycle and see how much fun it can be and get to see the world from a different perspective and save some gas too.

2 thoughts on “Can I Drive my Car?

  1. I actually bought myself a bike last year and although now I live where biking is really only an option in my neighborhood..I am planning a move next year and the town I am going to is smaller and biking is what most of the residents do..Yeah for saving $$ and yeah for biking!!

Leave a Reply

