Men and Cars

As you can imagine from the title this has something to do with men and their passion for cars.
Today my guy took it upon himself to drag me to an auto show where a huge hall was filled with all models of cars manufactured by some European company.

There I was and let me tell you I wasn’t the only gal there not too excited about how much horsepower the car had or what sort of tires it had. There were lots of gals there just standing looking into space while their other half was prancing around the car like it was an object that has never been seen before.

Actually, I wanted to ask each gal” are you having a good time or are you here like me,; just along for the ride?” I am pretty sure most were in the same boat as I was. If I asked my guy to come look at handbags he would tell me that I am nuts and that I can do that alone or with one of my gal friends. But with cars I have to be dragged along for some reason which I am sorry to say I cannot answer.

The men themselves were more interesting than the cars were; because it seemed each one was trying to outdo the other by the way they swayed up to the car and stood in front of it. It was like being in the Wild West without a horse. Gals I am sure you know what I am talking about.

Somehow I think most of the men there had forgotten where they were and of course who knows more about which model is very important or for example MPG and so forth. Men say we gals have a handbag problem but when I was standing there I thought if all these guys here had enough space at home each one of them would have bought at least 5 cars and have them on display in their garage all shining and nice but not to be touched by the female species.

My guy came across a model which he found interesting and talked to some guy for 45 minutes about this and that. I wasn’t there anymore and when he was finished he turned and said to me” oh, you are still here?” I thought were should I be? His mind was clouded by the fresh leather interiors and shiny paint, and I was lost only to be an object there to hold onto the brochures.

But then I got bored and thought I will look around myself while he’s gossiping with some guys about whatever.

There before my eyes was my car! It was like a handbag screaming at me saying “buy me.” I stood there before it and saw myself sitting behind the while driving endlessly through the countryside with the top down and the sun shining and not a care in the world. I was in heaven!

But I was brought back to reality because I didn’t have the right amount of small change with me. So my driving around in the convertible was brought to an abrupt halt. Though it was great for a couple of minutes and I could amuse myself until I was brought back to reality again for the 2nd time by the salesman saying that car was for younger folks and I should maybe take a look at the other model with seats that are easier to get out of. You can just image the look I gave him and walked away! Men don’t they think gals can’t like cars too?

Well, after wandering around I found my guy still in the same spot that I left him but only to find the number of other guys in the conversation had increased to 6 now. I thought -> how can I get his attention? Maybe jump up and down, scream or stand on my head? I tried the old fashioned way of tugging on his sweater but no luck so I said to him that I wanted to go home. That was a mistake with a capital “M”.

Gals never; I repeat never say that at a car show.. I will spare you the rest here.

So, gals if your guy asks if you want to go to a car show with him than I would nicely suggest that you say “You can go alone and I can enjoy a nice day out with the gals.” This way saving a lot of grief on both sides and the men can enjoy their time with the cars and we can enjoy our time with the handbags!

Enjoy your day whatever you decide to do!

Leave a Reply

