My Blanket – My Bed

You need a blanket for your bed to keep you warm on those cool nights. Though sometime that blanket doesn’t seem large enough for your bed when you are asleep next to your guy or gal who seems to be hogging it for themselves and leaving you stranded open to the elements. Life can be so cold!

I bet you all didn’t know that people argue at home about blanket hogger’s and other things in the bedroom. This is something that I never knew before either and I had to wait half of my life before it was reported by some scientist. My golly how long does it take those jokers to get their scientific evidence together???

I will give you some insight into this horrific problem. Maybe some of you may know what I am talking about here too and experienced it also.

The problem is the blanket bed hog (similar to the road hog).You have fought a struggling battle in the night for a little corner of the blanket to keep you warm. I can say that this can be a real chilling experience when it’s winter outside. Summer isn’t so bad because the temperatures don’t normally drop below 0°.

I think blanket hogs have a special gene in them that say: it’s cold out tonight so lets hog the blanket for some fun or they have gone secretly to some blanket hogging course on “how to hog a blanket correctly in 3 easy steps.”

And so before I get into bed I have to dress as if I am going on an arctic expedition so I won’t freeze in the night and my guy can enjoy the warmth of the blanket and snore cutting through the forest at the same time too.

It can be an eye opening and invigorating experience to lie next to someone like that. I can lie there looking at the ceiling contemplating life because I can’t sleep because he’s snoring and I am refreshed because I only have a small corner of the blanket, but thank heavens I have my arctic expedition outfit on for sub-zero temperatures which keeps me warm! It may not be romantic but hey I’m not freezing my backside off.

Plus he has asked me why do I put so much clothing on when I go to bed, because the bedroom is warm enough and that I am not going outside.
I have tried to explain to him the problem but somehow he doesn’t seem to understand that he is hogging all the blanket and that I get cold sometimes in the middle of the night. It is a hopeless battle!!!

Then I struggle for that little piece of blanket and my guy rolls over and says to me: stop hogging all of the blanket. That just takes the cake!!

As if I was the culprit and he was just lying innocently there sleeping soundly and I disturbed his sleep because I wanted a piece of the blanket. How can I be soooo COLD?

Or along with the blanket there’s the rolling over and taking up the whole bed leaving me stranded on the edge and then I have to get up and walk around to the other side and get back into bed. My guy wakes up in the morning and wonders -> why are you on my side of the bed? Of course he can’t remember that he was hogging the whole bed and blanket. Ohhhh, I feel better already just getting all that off my chest; what a night!!!!

But there’s something worse than not having enough blanket.

Can you guess??

Well there you are all snug and warm in bed and you guy or gal hops in with you and thinks “ oh, lets cuddle.” You think “OK” just what I have been waiting for!

And then the shock comes feeling like a lighting strike destroying the moment COLD FEET!! Now that can destroy any thought of anything because those cold feet are defiantly not on the program when it comes to being romantic!!

Like the old saying goes: Cold hands warm heart, Cold feet no sweetheart. Now that holds true.

So if you are thinking about approaching your guy or gal in a romantic way; make sure you have your special I have warm feet romantic socks on so then the other person knows that your feet are warm and that you can cuddle otherwise it can be a cold experience and that you don’t want!

Well, I think you all know now about the trivial perils of the blanket and so don’t forget to share your blanket and not let it turn into a nightly battle.

P.S: more will be reported at a future date here about the wonders of arguing in the bedroom.

4 thoughts on “My Blanket – My Bed

  1. I can relate to this post too. Except for us, it is the sheet. I actually tried putting two sheets overlapping on the bed to ward this off. He hated that, and they got all weird and didn’t help at all. So the only remedy is to make the bed totally lopsided because you know that in the night, it will come out more even by morning. Thanks for the smile.

Leave a Reply

