Billboards are Fading

I read that some city wants to get rid of all its billboards and large signs. I ask that city how can they do that? What is happening to the good’ol things in life and why does everything have to be gotten rid of?

When I sit here and think back to my younger days – oh those wonderful times of yesteryear with the billboards along the side of the road! I feel old now – Help me!!!

Those great billboards that lined the road with some nifty saying or telling you that at the next exit you only have to drive 5 miles and there will be some exciting adventure for the whole family.

Or there was one where I lived with a giant ice-cream cone and as a kid I always dreamed that one day I would get an ice-cream cone that size but somehow my dream never came true and the sign was torn down when I was about 10 years old.

Or there was the happy family driving along without a care in the world in a car waving to all those who passed by. Those were great times.

There were giant burgers or soft drinks that would make your mouth water and as a kid I would beg my parents to take me there only to hear my dad say it was too far away; maybe some other time. My dad must have said that sentence a trillion times every time I saw a billboard with food on it; I wanted to go there and have something to eat.

There were the billboards for tourist attractions too which were really great; promising you the world and wild animals that would eat you alive if you weren’t careful.

Or there was the man-eating creature waiting to devour you when you stopped there. And of course my dad would never stop at such great places because as he put it “That’s a load of hog wash!”

Those words brought tears to my eyes because I wanted to see a real man-eating animal and what did I get just a glimpse of the place as we drove by.

Though one year my dad decided to drive to Florida for Christmas and so we made our way from upstate New York to Florida and that was a trip that left lasting memories in my brain and my dad was the best dad in the world that year and he still is!!!

As we crossed the border into the southern states that’s where the signs began to tell me there were great thing in store if I just keep reading. The first sign was only 200 mile to (whatever the name of the place was) and it went like that every couple of mile so there was a building up of excitement in the car because I knew that was a place to stop at and after my dad driving for hours and listening to me begging from the back seat when will be there and my mom sitting there patently listening to me too. Then the moment came and my dad pulled off the highway to the place with the giant sombrero! I was ecstatic just to see that hat that had been on all the billboards since entering the southern states.

Then we parked and got out and my dad gave me .50 cents so I could get myself a souvenir. That was life and I knew that they would have something there for me! I ran into the store only to see that it was full of tee-shirts and plastic alligators and some sombreros and post cards. Nothing was there that was as exciting as the bill boards. I wanted excitement and looked and looked only to be disappointed and walked back out to the car with my mom and my .50 cents still in my hand.

After we got back onto the highway again my spirits were lifted by the bigger than life signs for pecan pie. I had never seen such huge pies before and they looked really good too along with the happy people who were eating the pies. My dad said we would stop for some of that great looking pecan pie, which we did but I didn’t like the pie so I had to settle for a wonderful chocolate ice-cream sundae.

Those billboards were great!

Then the moment came with the giant orange welcoming you too Florida and there in that state were billboards with giant fish and alligators on them or monkeys and other exotic creatures that I had never seen before.
Those billboards really showed me what life was about and all the great things that life had to offer. I couldn’t sleep in the car because I was so excited that I would miss out on some great picture on a billboard. What pictures they were indeed!!

To all those people who will decide about billboards: Please, don’t get rid of all those great things because that was and makes life so memorable!

Leave a Reply

