Sensational Soccer

Well, since the European Soccer championship has started my world with my guy has changed. He is now living in another world and that is “Soccer”! I personally haven’t anything against the game even though I do not see what is so exciting about a bunch of guys running after a ball.

There seems to be this person called a referee who acts like a mom at a playground keeping an eye on the kids and seeing to it that they behave themselves and when some guy does something wrong he is shown a yellow card – sort of like a mom scolding him for not playing fairly and if some guy goes too far and does something that he really shouldn’t do then “mom” comes along and shows a red card meaning: no more playing on this playground anymore!

Those “mom’s” can be really tough cookies and don’t put up with any nonsense either. I guess that’s what their paid for-right???

Those guys run after that ball and the crowd roars in the hopefulness that their team will score a goal and even at my place my guy and his friends are the same and seem to be sitting on a hot bed of coals whenever their favorite team gets close to their goal posts and somehow they seem to forget that they are at home and not at the soccer stadium and scream and holler all sorts of stuff at the TV as if those guys playing can hear them. And I just sit there in amazement watching the whole ordeal, and only to be reminded that I don’t understand the intricacies of this sport.

Ok, the good bit is that some of those players don’t look too bad from my point of view and my gal friends think the same too and so we started watching the game so we can watch the guys and who cares about who wins – the important thing for us is -> good looking guys!!

But I am brought back to reality by my guy reminding me that this is serious stuff and not to be taken lightly because I informed my guy that me and my gal friends have decided to watch a couple of games ourselves and naturally without our guys around, so we can have our fun too. Though you do need a bit of patience because I find the games start out rather slow and it takes awhile before there is some real action and the guys show their real talent. But it can be worth the wait.

Gals enjoy the Euro soccer championship and all those wonderful looking legs running up and down the soccer field!

3 thoughts on “Sensational Soccer

  1. I sympathize with you because in a few months American football will get into high gear and husbands, boyfriends and significant others will have a one track mind for the next 6 months.. Who’s playing?

Leave a Reply

