Out of office – no reply

That’s the sentence I love to write when I know that I am going on vacation and won’t be in the office for the next two weeks, so I want to tell the world that I am not sitting at my desk waiting for your email. So leave me alone!

But sometimes people forget to change the message and there you are sending them an important business email only to receive an answer that says “out of office on vacation”. Then I hate that sentence because I know they are back at work and sitting at their desk and probably drinking coffee and reading the newspaper or showing everyone their vacation photos.

But then there are those who forget that little message and off I go and write my email containing all that important stuff and after a couple of days waiting and still no reply; I decide to give that person a call and a polite PA will answer the phone and say “I’m sorry but they are on vacation for the next 2 weeks.” I could explode in such cases because it is something important and I need an answer. They don’t like me …..or anyone else for that matter – so I don’t feel so bad now.

Though I know vacations are important too but one mustn’t forget to tell some other folks too who may need to know that information. Though I will admit I would never call anyone when they are on vacation. That would be a nightmare in itself. There you are having a great time on the beach or wherever and all of a sudden your cell phones rings to tell you that you have emails to answer. The day is ruined!!

I read that a lot of bosses expect their employees to be on call on vacation if anything important pops-up. What’s important I ask? Because, what is important to one person isn’t always important to another person and I would not want my boss sending me emails about irrelevant information just so that I should answer them.

I wonder how many people in the world ignore those sorts of emails and get on enjoying their vacation instead of thinking about work? I bet there are quite a few.

Enjoy your “out of office” time and then there’s no reason to reply.

2 thoughts on “Out of office – no reply

  1. When I go on vacation from work that is exactly what I do.. no emails, calls, etc are accepted.. I’ll be back…That reminds me, I need to set my out of office when I’m out next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

