Life and my Laptop Computer

 Laptops are great things and we can take them with us wherever we go and stay in contact with the world and tell everyone what we are up to. Ok, that is if you have access to the world and if not well you are left high and dry and have no idea about what is going on or no one can contact you.

 I am so happy that I am always reachable 24/7 and that way I won’t miss out on any new news from friends and family!!    I’m an online junky

When I was a kid we never dreamed that it would be possible to communicate with someone on the other side of the world and get an answer from them in a minute. Back then …… oh soooooo long ago; I got out some paper and my trusty pen (what’s a pen? Wasn’t that the thing made out of metal and had some ink in it….) and actually wrote something and then stuck it in an envelope went to the post office bought a stamp and sent it off… waited awhile and maybe got an answer.  I miss the paper.

It was always so nice to open up my mail box and there inside was a letter or card from someone who had thought of me and I could sit down and hold the letter in my hand and read it and save it. It was so personal and not like the electronic post that is impersonal ..ok, there are many positive aspects to electronic post but one thing it cannot replace is a hand written letter .

My laptop lets me read the newspapers around the world in any language I want as long as I can understand it.  And years ago I was happy with the local newspaper that was delivered to my doorstep every morning rain or shine. Oh how my laptop has changed my life.

My laptop lets me communicate with people all over the world and I have never met them in person and probable never will either. But somehow everyone wants to communicate with each other and so you can have millions of friends…. Hopefully nice friends! Or you can show the world all your photos too. Not like back in the olden days where you could only show a limited number of people your photos.  Oh how times have changed!!!!!

My laptop is like a faithful companion and without it I am nothing and have nothing to say to others when they say “Did you see/ read….. on the internet?”  There I would be cut off from the world and have to say…. “ No, because I don’t have a laptop or internet.” I am sunk!!!

So, I have come to the conclusion (no scientist involved) that without my trusty laptop my world is limited, but I can still enjoy myself without it too.

Try a laptop free day.. It can be fun!

2 thoughts on “Life and my Laptop Computer

  1. Writing seems to become a lost art, but Christmas is on it’s way so I can write some cards in a couple of months.

  2. I remember the first time I used a computer and went to MSN..I was astounded then and even now, years later I marvel at all of the information the web allows to read. I try to limit my online time to a few hours a day because it can be very addicting and we forget about the “real” world…I do need to write more letters though !!

Leave a Reply

