International Dog Day

Man’s best friend has its day today –International Dog day. Dogs are great animals and need to be respected too, so thank goodness there is a day devoted to dogs!

Our faithful friend who stands by us no matter what happens and cheers you up when felling down or that happy face and wagging tail that greets you when you open the house door. Those are wonderful things to experience and those of you who have a dog know exactly what I mean.

Unfortunately, my best 4 legged friend left us a couple of years ago. His name was Sputnik and he was a Jack Russell Terrier – who could be a little terror toooooo!!!! But his name fit him to a tee and when I think back sometime and wonder who was in charge – Sputnik or me? Though without a doubt I would say Sputnik was in charge with his canny ways and sense of humor (believe me he had one alright!). He seemed to have a way about him that he let everyone know if you were liked or not and if not , it could be hell at our house for you, and he would give you the feeling it was time to leave – and I can say it worked sometimes too.

But a great doggy memory of him was if I went out and forgot to shut the door to the living room, and you can guess where he was then…. Right on the sofa lounging away enjoying life -Until I came home! I knew he was sleeping on the sofa because when I came into the house he didn’t greet me and so I could sneak into the living room and find him sound asleep on the sofa , and of course he had made himself comfortable… only the best for Sputnik – not some hard dog bed!
You can imagine him lying there his head on a pillow the blanket positioned just so and he was lying on his back with all fours in the air snoring away in a doggy world… a sight to behold until I said “ Sputnik what are you doing on the sofa?” Well, if looks could kill then he could sure look that way as if to say I was the bad guy for coming home and disturbing him while he was having a nice rest on the sofa…. His look said to me that I was an emotionless soul and that if I don’t watch out I’m in for trouble!!!
It’s my house and my sofa but he never saw it that way. It was more like Sputnik’s sofa and his house and he could do whatever he wanted to. Though I do wonder to this day if he could have spoken –what would he have said to me? I am sure it would be something not worth repeating.

He was also a real lady’s man. Every Wednesday afternoon if someone was home to let him out; he would promptly make his way down the street for the weekly 3:00pm coffee and cake afternoon at an elderly ladies house where she always entertained some of her friends and who was also invited to come along??? Right Sputnik! Those gals loved him to death and he knew how to take advantage of it too. If he missed out on that afternoon he was in a bad mood for the next two days as if to say we deliberately wouldn’t let him go and have some cake and be the main attraction. But the day came when the elderly lady passed away and he it seemed he knew that there would be no more cake and walked passed her house with a sad look on his face for weeks… dogs can be really sensitive and I know Sputnik was too.

That’s enough about Sputnik. Enjoy your dog and remember the great times you had with him or her because they love you more than you think!

Leave a Reply

