A Christmas Tree- Yes, That’s for Me!

Well, Christmas is approaching at the speed of light and on Saturday is the 1st of December – where does time go???? A Christmas tree is at the top of my list this year and a lovely green tree in my living room all decorated and smelling good just makes you want to enjoy all the pre-holiday days before Santa Claus comes down the chimney.

My mom & dad always put up the Christmas tree the first weekend in December so that we could enjoy it the whole month long, and believe me we did!!! And it wasn’t only the two legged folks either but my faithful childhood companion Cesar. Now as a dog he seemed to view the tree with other thoughts on his mind and it wasn’t sitting there looking at it or taking in the lovely fragrance of the tree either…..

I bet you can guess – One year my dad decided to buy a huge Christmas tree about 8 feet tall and it was really big but then again we had a huge living room so no problems with the tree or at least that’s what my parents thought….. My dad so proudly positioned the tree in the stand and placed it in front of the window like every year, but this was the first Christmas for Cesar at our house so in a dogs mind what is a tree good for????

Right!!! He went over to the tree sniffed at it and lifted his leg and decided to water the tree. I don’t want to repeat here what my dad said to Cesar but you can imagine and it wasn’t very nice! I can remember my mom say to my dad “You shouldn’t say such things in front of your daughter.” My dad was so mad at the dog that he didn’t care and I thought “wow, now I know some new words that you shouldn’t say!”

So Cesar had some good points when it came to learning things you shouldn’t say. Thank you, Cesar you enriched my life and I will never forget you for that!!!

Anyways after he was banished from the house for awhile he could come back in because my mom felt sorry for him outside in the cold, and by now it was dark outside and like every year we had a special ceremony at our house for the official lighting of the tree with hot chocolate, music and the works…
It was a great time and we were all proud of our Christmas tree because we decorated it ourselves and it looked great with all those colored lights and sparkling glass decorations glistening in the dark….. For about 15 minutes at least! This tree was not the Christmas tree that brought good times too our house because once we were all seated in the living room looking at how wonderful the tree looked Cesar came in and had a look at the tree and saw his reflection in one of the ornaments and wham-o he attacked the Christmas tree and dragged it across the living room floor.

Now my dad was flaming mad to say the least!!!!! And I knew that I better get out-a there as fast as I can before I get in trouble. I was summand to take Cesar upstairs to my room and watch him. I thought then and there that was the end of my loving relationship with Cesar…. That brought tears to my eyes!!!

But what did my mom & dad do they cleaned up the mess. My dad fastened the tree to the wall and we had a big section of the tree where there were no decorations, so Cesar wouldn’t see himself again and attack the tree. That was a Christmas tree to remember and I loved that tree and that Christmas, and because of that tree I have always had a Christmas tree in my house ever since I’ve left home.

Enjoy your Christmas tree!

2 thoughts on “A Christmas Tree- Yes, That’s for Me!

  1. Yah, there’s nothing like a real tree and the feeling it brings into the house. Enjoy your tree and keep a close eye on it, not that your doggie gets other ideas 😉

  2. I love a real tree and am heading out this weekend to get ours and put it up.. So far my doggie has left ours alone except he does like to sleep underneath it 🙂

    I’l loving the worm on the fishing line.. too darn cute that is!!

Leave a Reply

