THE FIRST SNOWFLAKES

Oh the first snowflakes are in the air and how lovely and white the ground does seem. Those first snowflakes every year are such a wonderful sight to behold and always bring back memories of my childhood where I would run outside to try to catch the very first flakes of snow.

Those were wonderful times back then when I was all packed in my snow suit and would run outside and try to catch the snowflakes that were falling from the sky. But I would be sooooo sad when those wonderful flakes of snow melted in my hand and I would stare at my hand and think “Why did you melt little snow flake? – You looked so pretty to me.”

I never understood the scientific aspect of snowflakes when I was a small child and nor did they interest me either. All I saw was some great white stuff falling from the sky! And that was all that mattered and it meant that winter was on its way and I hoped the snow would stay on the ground so that Santa Claus could make his way to our house with his sleigh. Very important you know for small kids and I was a firm believer that that guy Santa Claus existed!!!

Then the time came when I found out that those magical snowflakes falling from the sky were frozen ice crystals… well, that just broke my bubble of the mystical powers of those wonderful flakes, and then to top it off the same year I was informed that there wasn’t any Santa Claus. I knew then and there life would never be the same for me without those mystical snowflakes and the jolly guy who slides down the chimney to deliver the Christmas presents. How could life be sooo hard on me????

But somehow I forgot about all the scientific stuff and just started to enjoy the wonders of the snowflakes that were falling from the sky because knew they look so lovely and pristine to me and each one wasn’t the same so I knew they were falling just for me… my very own snowflakes!!!!

Enjoy the first snow fall if you live where there is snow and look at all those lovely snowflakes falling softly towards us…. I still love the first snowflakes!

3 thoughts on “THE FIRST SNOWFLAKES

  1. Tsose are really great memories and I still find there is nothing like the first snow of the year even though I’m not a kid anymore.

  2. I miss the snow so much. I have some of the best memories of growing up in an area where it snowed and yes the snow suit and when my gloved got too wet from making snowballs, I put socks on my hands 🙂
    Enjoy that lovely snow !!

Leave a Reply

