A Christmas Card Sent To Me

Christmas cards seem to be something of the past. Remember years ago when friends, family and acquaintances sent you a Christmas card. Those were great cards with the same saying but always with a great different picture on it. Those were Christmas cards!!!

Somehow, you can still buy Christmas cards but no one seems to send them out like they used too. Back in my younger days my parents got literally loads of cards wishing them or all of us a Merry Christmas or Seasons greetings or whatever else was written on them. And nowadays I seem to be lucky if I get 3 Christmas cards….. The real sort I mean that you get delivered and they land in your mail box and you can display them proudly on the mantle.

What do I get now….. Some crumby electronic thing that I will delete after a couple of days…. Don’t misunderstand me here. I am happy that the sender thought of me but that still cannot replace that great piece of paper staring at you from the mantle piece and all the other cards there too biding for your attention to pick it up and read it again or when family or friends come over and they too head for the Christmas cards to see what you have received in the way of Christmas greetings…. Oh paper Christmas card don’t disappear from our mantle piece. I need you there to bring the peace and joy that makes the Christmas cheer for my living room ohhh dear!

I know that this whole Christmas card deal costs money and takes time but isn’t time that we take time for those lovely Christmas cards that could be displayed so proudly and enjoyed because the person who sent it to you or the person you sent one to can see that you took time or they took time and isn’t that part of the holiday season to take time???

Enjoy your real paper Christmas cards and remember someone took time to write it and send it to you!

4 thoughts on “A Christmas Card Sent To Me

  1. Don’t feel bad, I hardly ever get cards anymore and I miss them ..I used to look back through them after the holidays and always felt so nice..
    Bah Humbug, I don’t want an electronic card either!!

Leave a Reply

