Sleigh Bells are Ringing

Oh there are only 10 until those sleigh bells can be heard outside your house and Santa will slide down your chimney and fill your stocking. I hope everyone has been good this year and not misbehaved…….

DSCF1674

Those were great times when I was I kid crossing off the days on the calendar and hoping that I wouldn’t do anything that would upset Santa Claus… I wanted him to stop by our house and so for me being good in December was on top of my list and not to forget the mile long wish list that I wrote too with all the stuff that I thought I needed.
When I think back to the things that I wished for it seems light years away because when I see what kids wish for today my toys seemed so dull and boring to them. But for me they were action packed with adventure and brought me and my friends’ hours of fun!!! I loved my toys

DSCF1675

There on my list when I was young were dolls and a baby buggy or some great piece of clothing to dress my doll in or a cassette with some cool music on it (Cassette – what’s that????) or there were the wonderful books full of adventure that took place in unknown places around the world – making my fascination run wild and letting me be part of something that I wouldn’t experience at home. Sometimes a dress would be under the tree that I could wear on Christmas day. Do little girls still wear those??? Santa was always so thoughtful. Or if I was really lucky there would be all kinds of chocolate stuffed in my stocking and the healthy orange( that was something that was always in it)…… oh those wonderful childhood memories!!!

I knew on Christmas Eve that when I placed the note beside the plate of cookies and a glass of milk on the kitchen table for Santa that there would be some great things in store for me on Christmas day…… Though sometimes I was soooooo excited that it seemed to take ages to fall asleep and my mom would always say “You must try to sleep or Santa won’t stop by.” How could she say that??? I was so excited about that jolly guy stopping by our house that I just couldn’t fall asleep; but sooner or later I did and would wake up and go down stairs to see a wonderfully lit Christmas tree and all the presents from Santa Claus under it. And Santa was such a great guy that he always left something for our dog Cesar too! So, I knew the Cesar must have been friends with Santa.

DSCF1673

So, I am just going to count the days now and make my wish list and hope that all my wishes come true even though I know that guy Santa Claus says I am toooooo old but hey, Who said you can’t enjoy the spirit of Santa at any age.?

Leave a Reply

