Dinner Disasters

Well dinner disasters can happen on that all important day of the year but since I was soooooo organized it really didn’t faze me; ok, I lied here it did upset me a bit but hey .. Who’s perfect???

My turkey was the highlight of the table at our place and all the other stuff that went with it too, and not to mention that I had maybe had a glass or two – tooooo many of some alcoholic beverage that seemed to send my brain to another plant and not let it concentrate on the important things at hand …… like cooking!!!!

Everything was on track until I smelt a mysterious odor coming from the kitchen. A note: I had apples baking in the oven filled with rum raisins and marzipan. Here timing was essential but somehow my thoughts were not on those apples and you can guess what happened next??????

Bingo….. The apples had taken on a somewhat brownish black color and the marzipan was definitely well done to say the least! I believe everything should be thoroughly baked then no chance any bacteria.

Once I managed to make my way to the kitchen and discover that my lovely apples weren’t so lovely anymore and there was definitely a funny color smoke building up inside the oven I knew then and there the desert would have to be something else…. But what???? Thank goodness that I had some ice cream in stock to save the day and the best part was no one really remembered what I said earlier about baked apples…… The wonders of conversation and drink!!!

Ok, everyone was happy with the ice cream and then someone had to have an espresso which really threw my concept right out the window!!! Espresso…. Did I have any espresso coffee and where the heck did I put the espresso machine???? I knew it was in the basement, but where??? Panicking I went down stairs and found it staring at me from the shelf and so espresso could be served… Thank goodness! I needed a sherry after that shock!!!

Then after serving everyone their espresso … sorry there was no famous actor at our house to drink it with us; just a bunch of normal folks having a good time!!

And the best bit was and please note this- I didn’t have enough espresso coffee, so I mixed normal coffee with it and I can say it tasted really good too and no one complained either. Just a tip if you are ever caught short of not having enough espresso coffee mix regular coffee with it.

But all in all I managed and had a good time on that hectic day and that was the most important thing!

2 thoughts on “Dinner Disasters

Leave a Reply

