Not Looking …

Not looking is the newest trend among cell phone users and seems to be on the increase as more and more people are jumping on the bandwagon to copy everyone else. Not looking where you are going and on concentrating on that all important object the “cell phone”. Could be, as I see it the hit of 2013 if we aren’t careful.

What happened to walking down the street and looking around you and seeing who is walking by or what is in a store window or even take a moment to look at the scenery…. Those days are over – what a pity!!!

Isn’t this bad for your posture not walking straight or are we now all born with the “look at my cell phone” gene??? But for these folks I guess that when they reach a certain age they will be in the group with the” looking at my cell phone” syndrome or having texting fingers or forgotten how to communicate verbally to each other….. oh what a pity if you ask me, because there is soooo much to life besides the cell phone.

I can see it now in the future… conversation doesn’t exist anymore only texting messages to each other. It could be like this at our house:

My guy is sitting in the living watching TV or reading the newspaper and then decides that he would like a cup of coffee to drink and instead of getting up and coming into the kitchen where I am( By the way,my favorite room in the house) ;he will just send me a text message asking for a cup of coffee and because my eyes were on my cell phone… Thank goodness… Don’t want to think about it if they weren’t!!!! And then I can text him back saying I’ll bring him a cup or he could get up off his backside and GPS his way into the kitchen. Remember he has to look at the screen of his cell phone otherwise he may get lost looking at all the stuff we have around the house and trying to find his way from the living room to the kitchen…. Could give him the shock of this life and I wouldn’t want to do that too him!!!

Or even a worse thought could be that he is out in the garage with his buddies and I am not in the kitchen but somewhere else in the house for example taking a shower and he texts me a message and low and behold I can’t answer it right away… Now that could be devastating because I am not chained to my cell phone. Plus, the message probably would be important -> something like “ I’m in the garage with the guys having a beer.” As if that is world moving news for me???????

But then again I could text him a message saying that I’m going out for a while and will be back later. Who needs to give each other a kiss before you leave the house when a text message would be sufficient….. What’s the world coming too I ask?????

Then I could make my way to my friend’s house via GPS because if I looked around I would get lost. Then text a message saying I’m on the way and instead of ring the door bell just a quick text message saying I’m at the front door and once inside we can text each other… Is that what we really want from life????? Not me….

Maybe it’s about time that people stand up straight and take a look at the world around them instead of always staring at the screen of their cell phones.

One thought on “Not Looking …

Leave a Reply

