Perfect times – are they lost?

Perfect times seem to be a thing of the past. I got thinking-I can still do that; an amazing fact!!! About how it was when I was I kid. Life seemed sooooo perfect and the books we read or the TV shows we watched were full of happy people and there was never violence. Those were happy times!!!

What sparked this off was an old TV show that I saw on TV the other day; depicting the happy family. You may remember – Mom stayed home and cooked and was always perfectly groomed and smiling no matter what happened – Are mom’s like that today???
The kids were clean and happy and never complained. Dad was happy too and came home in the evening with a smile on his face as if he just had the best day in his life…. Maybe he did and we just don’t know what he was up too??? I don’t want to ruin the perfectness here… so the dad had a great day at work and is plain old happy!!!

Then there was the great book with Dick & Jane and their dog Spot – that book taught me to read and everyone depicted in the book was happy even the mom & dad. Happiness never seemed to stop. It was everywhere you turned and I was happy too, and didn’t know any better. Life was full of happiness.

I can’t remember as a kid my parents even arguing…. They were happy too, ok- they got upset with me once in a while or our dog but those were only trivial setbacks as I see it now. But back then that meant the end of the world, if I got in trouble!!!

Somehow through the years people stopped being so happy on TV and the people around me don’t seem as happy as they were years ago either. What has happened to being happy?????? Or has the world changed soooo much that people have forgotten what it is like to be happy.

Sometimes I wish for those carefree and happy days of the past again, because people seemed more relaxed and not always in a hurry or worrying about the latest up-date on their social network or some other device that distracts us, so that we have no time to relax and enjoy life.

It would be great to see more content & happy people around – and not in the superficial sense either. Will those sort of days ever come back or are they lost forever??????????

2 thoughts on “Perfect times – are they lost?

  1. Times have definitely changed and not for the better.. On one hand we have more dialogue (Oprah and such) about subjects that used to be taboo so we are more educated. My wow, the sex, violence, poor role models is exactly why I banished tv watching to another realm.. almost 3 yrs and i bet I have not watched 10 hours of tv.. i’d had enough.. It makes me very sad because those shows were so entertaining.. (I was an “I Love Lucy” and “Gilligans Island” fanatic 😉

Leave a Reply

