Sunny Screen

The sunny days of summer and sun screen seem to go together somehow. Now-a-days we use sunscreen to protect our skin from those harmful rays just waiting or lurking outside our homes to say to our skin – “Are you using sunscreen?” And if not than wait a couple of hours and you’ll look like a lobster…

When I was a kid no one every really thought about how those rays from the sun could do damage to our skin. It was more like let’s see how red can we get and in the evening be in excruciating pain from the sunburn… But no one ever said it was bad for us.. Just the opposite “Fresh air & sunshine will do you good.” Or maybe some of you remember the baby oil crazy where everyone thought putting that on your skin was good too… Then again not thinking that it may be working like a magnifying glass.

Those were the days of pure nativity and we had fun!
No worries- mom just pushed me outside for the day and said wear your hat so your face doesn’t get too red. I was happy to oblige and run around in the great sunny weather and enjoy life. Do kids do that today?? I wonder sometimes, because I don’t see them outside playing like we did years ago…. Somehow it all seems so sad.

Now, first the kids have to have the right clothing on then creamed-up with sunscreen and then given instructions and then are allowed to go outside..Boy ,if I had to experience that before going outside as a kid I would have definitely been impatient and run out of the house because I would have been worried that I would have missed out on the action with the other kids, and that was definitely something to worry about and not worrying if I had sunscreen on my skin!! Priorities that’s what it was …..

I remember a friend I used to hang around with and she was a permanent red in the summer but that was healthy her mom used to say… Naturally we all were various shades of red. You just had to line us up and there you had it…. I mean from lobster red to a pale pink, so we covered the color spectrum really good. Sunburn was fun and we could prove it!

Those sunny days and the mean rays from the sun just burning away at our skin brought joy to us and we could compare our sunburns too. Who was the reddest or who was the palest( bad)… that meant you weren’t allowed outside because you were grounded for doing some minor thing (major thing back then) like saying something bad or even worse hitting someone

Oh those sunny summer days of sunbathing without the proper sunscreen are gone forever, because now I have to worry about those vicious rays ruining my skin as soon as I take one step out the door and the aging which it does to my skin too. It never did any of that years ago. Has the sun taken a disliking to me?

So, don’t forget before you go outside next time to use sunscreen or else those harmful rays from the sun could damage your skin now-a-days.

Leave a Reply

