Autumn Leaves

Looking out the window at all those wonderful colored leaves on the trees and seeing them slowly swaying in the wind and then just letting themselves go from the tree and sailing through the air to land softly on the ground… oh those lovely leaves of fall as you send us your greetings to tell us that colder weather is on its way.

There the trees stand no more birds in their nests just a lonely tree bare of its leaves stands there so proudly waiting for some bird to land on its branch and say hello. Not many people put real thought anymore into what happens with the change of season or notices that how lovely the trees are with their leaves a glow in the lovely colors of fall.

As a kid I remember every fall my dad hopped into the car with my mom and me and we drove off for the day just to look at the wonderful colors of the leaves on the trees… oh they were so lovely and bright, or at least they seem so in my memories. The tall majestic trees that were in the countryside and you could drive for miles just looking at all the colors that were abound and sometimes not see another car or person for hours. Those were the wonderful days of fall!

I have great memories of fall and of raking those dreaded leaves too. I always thought as a kid those leaves fell from the tree just to make me work!

My parents would say to me “Now, go outside and rake some of those leaves into piles”. That was a sentence that I hated to hear… those piles of leaves were bigger then me… We had thousands of leaves and they were only there on the ground for me to rake into piles….and then a gust of wind would come along and blow my wonderful piles of leaves away only to hear my dad say.. “Well, you have to start again”. I think the leaves on the ground were invented as a way to keep small kids out of the house so the parents could have their peace and quiet!!!

I hated those leaves and it seemed that the trees had an endless supply of leaves, because there were always leaves to be found in the yard no matter how good I raked!! I personally thought back then that the trees had gotten together in a conspiracy to shed all their leaves in our yard so I would have to rake them into piles.

Oh the fall leaves and their colors and wonderful memories they have left me with of raking them into piles… Enjoy the wonderful colored leaves that the trees are sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

