Selfie – not today Ohje!

Now that the word „Selfie“ is officially in the dictionary and is a recognized word; I feel now I can use it in a linguistic way… OK??

I know the word has been around for a couple of years now but somehow I didn’t want to use a word that isn’t in the dictionary. I know you think “How old fashioned”.. What can I say; I like to use words that have a definition in a dictionary.

Anyways, back to the “Selfie” – I will admit I do not belong to the “Selfie” crowd because I never take pictures of myself and post them online somewhere, so the world can see me and where I am at the moment. I am happy with myself and do not need recognition, and I am not sure that all the recognition that people get for their “Selfie’s” is truthful?????
Nothing against those folks but I have noticed that with some friends of mine their “Selfie’s” are getting a bit boring, because I know where they are and I know what they look like whether in a picture or in person.
I know no one is interested in what I look like or what is in the back ground, and to top it off I need to find the time to take all these photos and that means less free time for me because I am busy taking “ Selfie’s”.

Ok; some people’s “Selfie’s” are interesting because they are doing some sport or something that is really interesting. They are not just standing there and taking a picture of themselves because they have to prove something… They are taking pictures of something truly interesting!

Years ago before the internet and Smartphone’s you would be seen as being vain if you took a lot of pictures of yourself and now??????

It is really amazing how perception has changed since the invention of the internet, whether that is good or bad…. I cannot say, but I sit back with interest and watch the world evolve around me and hopefully the world will not turn into a too “Selfie” society one day

One thought on “Selfie – not today Ohje!

Leave a Reply

