I Married my Smartphone!

The days of smoking are over! Who needs to light-up a cigarette, because there is a replacement for it right in your hand and it’s always there, and knows about you, keeps track of your dates/ appointments and is basically your companion that one cannot do without today…. Our Smartphone, cell phone, mobile phone or whatever you want to call it.

It is simply there and always with you… No one would admit that they are a “Smartphone junky” because it is seen as being fashionable, so you never leave home without it!!!
I am always surprised by how attached people are to their Smartphone’s and I see a new trend on the horizon “Marrying my Smartphone” if you aren’t already married to it. People seem to spend more time monkeying around with their Smartphone’s than with their guy or gal……

An SMS conversation between a guy and gal:

1 – Guy: Ever heard of spoken communication?
2- Gal: Not too sure, let me check the internet to see what that was or is?
3- Gal: That was something that was done years ago before Smartphone’s
4- Guy: oh
5- Gal: should we try
6-Guy: How ??
7- Gal: ????
8- Guy: Huh ???
9- Gal: Date??
10- Guy: y +m
11-Gal: Yah, Fri ev @ 8.00
Now the date:
Real time speaking to each other: hi – hi
SMS:
Guy- Should we talk ??
Gal- Txting is easier
Guy- ok 🙂
Gal- ok 🙂
Guy- Pizza + Beer?
Gal – Do you have the order app for this restaurant?
Guy- sorry no
Gal- 😦 No food… you jerk!!

Is that what dating or communicating is turning into???? I hope not, because I still love to talk.
Then there’s the app that lets you communicate instantaneously, so the sender basically can judge from how long it takes for you to answer as to what you are up too…. Now where’s my life?????

Everyone wants to know what the other person is doing or indirectly even control or distrust the other person to whom they are sending the message too… or it is a plain form of self realization because they constantly need to tell someone how great and popular they are… But are they really popular???

I feel that sometimes my Smartphone is like a big chain around my neck!! Do I constantly have to be sending sms’s???

Wouldn’t it be nicer to call the other person up and hear their voice??? The sound of a real person’s voice can be so nice to hear and hopefully it won’t get lost in the world of sms’s!

Conversation is so nice, so let’s try and keep it alive!!

3 thoughts on “I Married my Smartphone!

  1. Hey, this is a profound post. Exaggeration? Is “profound” an over-the-top description? No. I have my smart phone, and I use it for enough to make it very valuable to me. And yet, I’m a little older than the “young bucks” … and I have a deeper appreciation for good relationships … than ever before. But my list of personal, close, relationships is a short one. And actually talking to these guys is something I am thankful for. I don’t ever want to get lost in the technology. Good writing. Keep on. T

Leave a Reply

