Dozens of Dinner Parties

Dinner parties seem to be seeing a comeback….or it is said.
Did they ever die or is there a need to try to be hip and say” hey we are throwing a dinner party”… before you just had people around for a meal or friends got together for a meal… but a dinner party… OH… those were the days and I can remember them as a kid!!

They were “in” one time and everyone got excited about being invited for a meal and drinks…..cocktails, somewhat fashionable then and mingling amongst friends and strangers and then the big moment when “dinner was announced”!!!

It wasn’t just the dinner that was important it was the whole concept itself… My mom always – planned what to wear, went and got her hair done, saw to it that my dad had the right suit on with the right tie…. Those were dinner parties and no one would ever think of showing up casual like we see today when we go to people’s houses for a meal. Those were events!!!

I too when invited would have to get dressed-up too. It would be unimaginable for children not to be properly attired either, because the family reputation was on show and what women (mother) would want her children to be seen as not properly dressed for the occasion. Ok, I was dressed up in a dress but somehow it really didn’t seem to fit in because if the weather was good all the kids were sent outside and of course told in a stern voice “Don’t get dirty”!!

Those words of wisdom I never have understood, because for us kids going outside back then meant doing something where you would get dirty and you could guarantee once back inside that I/ we all would get in trouble for dirtying our good clothes…. I guess my mom’s logic about not getting dirty when I was a kid will remain a mystery to me forever. Then after getting dirty the other great sentence was: Didn’t I tell you not to get dirty!! … Even when I tried to convince my mother that you can’t play outside and not get dirty, was useless because she didn’t want to hear that. Nor did any of the other mother’s either…..

Then we kids were shunted into another room and served what everyone always thought us kids loved to eat… Hotdogs and french-fries and drink a sickly sweet drink that gave you an orange or red mustache!! (I’m sure many of you know this drink) Why we had to eat that all the time is beyond me. I guess back then everyone thought that this was dinner party food for kids. I always wanted what the adults we eating… REAL FOOD!!!

Those were great times!!

But it is true no one really does those things anymore. It was so fun back then and my mom even enjoying throwing those dinner parties too and cooking all the food herself and getting everything ready for that big evening… It was simply great!!

Will the “Dinner Party” make a comeback or is it lost to the TV and computer world???

2 thoughts on “Dozens of Dinner Parties

  1. I adore a good dinner party. With the perfect blend of guests – meaning a couple of folks who adore being in charge of conversation and will direct all the dialogue, I can hide myself in the kitchen and play chef. Hearing the laughter coming from the other room always meant I’d scored the right mix. My job was simply to fill bellies with memorable food and make sure the wine helped with the laughter.
    Lovely post!

Leave a Reply

