The Desk Calendar

Yes, the good’ol desk calendar and they are still around. I was just admiring my desk calendar; not for its beauty, but for its usefulness.

Every year I get one or two or more….. With some company ad or logo on it with its trusty cardboard backing and paper pages listing 3 months at a time so that I have an overview of how fast time flies by! Okay, that is not the intention of the desk calendar. It is to help me at that precise moment when I need to know a date or day.

These things have been around for as long as I can remember and still have not lost their usefulness in this electronic age. Sure we have the programs where you can have an overview of what is happening in your work day and they remind you not to forget the next meeting and so forth…. But that little bit of cardboard paper has that special bit of humanism to it. It is there it is real and I can touch it and it is there on my desk staring at me without requiring a back-up system or electricity to look at it.

I can write on it. I can doodle on it or even make notes on the back of the pages of the past months… recycling paper. I love my desk calendar! Just flipping through the months and seeing “how many Friday the 13ths there are this year( 3 if you are interested) …. ” or when everyone’s birthday is ; that is just a wonderful thing.

But does anyone think about that anymore in this electronic age???? When there is a power outage then I cannot see what is on my computer calendar , but with my paper desk calendar I have no worries, because it is just there waiting for me to write on/in it, and it will be there whether there is electricity or not. A great invention!!!

Who ever invented these things really came up with something great and that it is still around proves that it is a great thing even in modern times….. I know most of you never make a second thought about your desk calendar, if you have one????? And if you do; have you ever taken the time to think about how handy that thing is??? I bet not… We just take desk calendars for granted.

I am happy to be a proud owner of such a thing and that those companies sent me one… I say thank you and please keep sending them to me, because I am a nostalgia buff who likes that bit of paper on my desk to keep me in line with life as to how it once was and not lose everything to electronically operated devices.

Enjoy your desk calendar too!

Leave a Reply

