Outboard Motor Memoires

This is sort of a guy topic, but I am sure some of you gals know about this too.

The other day was the anniversary of Mr. Evinrude the man who invented the outboard motor years ago.

I thank Mr. Evinrude because without his invention I wouldn’t have been able to spend so many wonderful hours on a lake when I was a kid. That outboard motor attached to the back of the small boat that helped us get from our dock to someplace else on the lake was wonderful…..

I remember when the time came when my dad built a bigger boat and then bought a larger outboard motor, but still the joy of being out on the lake fishing or just being out there with my dad was great! And all that thanks to an outboard motor.

Sure we rowed around too in a smaller boat because we weren’t old enough to drive a big boat, but who cared…. Not me!!! The main thing was being outside enjoying the sunshine and water. Years pasted and we needed a new outboard motor (sorry, the brand name …I can’t remember).

But still the trusty outboard motor did its job…okay sometimes it wouldn’t start on the first, second or even the third pull because the motor got flooded and my dad would get really upset and use words I won’t repeat….. But, I learned some new words from those trying moments…Thanks dad!!

Or another time out fishing and my dad wanted to “start her up” as he would say and pulled the cord and it snapped….. Now that was something 2 miles from our dock and we had to paddle the whole way back…. I thought it was great fun, but not my dad as you can imagine!!!

Once back on shore I had to tell my mom all about the fun we had and my dad was about to explode because of the “GD-outboard motor”, and to make matters worse I asked my dad what “GD” meant….definitely a bad move on my part!!!

When I think back about all those great times I had I feel sorry for the Kids today because they aren’t allowed to do things alone anymore…. Like me and my friends out catching minnows with a net and rowing around the lake for hours…. No one worried about us and we were free to enjoy ourselves , but we never did anything stupid either and were responsible , or we walked around the lake on a path along the edge of the lake…… no problems, no injuries….just plain fun!!!

It was better that any computer game and taught us self-confidence , social skills and how to remember how to get from A to B and back without GPS or calling someone for help.

Those were the days, and if you have an outboard motor and boat…. Enjoy it and cherish the memories that it brings you!

Sunny days are on the way…

Leave a Reply

